Just The Good Stuff CDs and Music - Just The Good Stuff
Home Books DVDs and Movies CDs and Music Electronics Contact Us Spacer

At Folsom Prison
Johnny Cash

CDs and Music - Just The Good Stuff

Buy At Folsom Prison, Johnny Cash From Amazon

At Folsom Prison, Johnny Cash At Folsom Prison by Johnny Cash ranked # 88 on Rolling Stone Magazine's 500 Greatest Albums list.

At Folsom Prison is a live album by Johnny Cash, recorded on January 13, 1968 at Folsom State Prison. Also on the album are June Carter, Carl Perkins, and Cash's band, the Tennessee Three.

The final song, "Greystone Chapel", was written by an inmate, Glen Sherley. Johnny Cash had never sung the song until the night before the Folsom visit. A Reverend asked Cash to listen to an audio tape of Sherley singing the song. After hearing the tape Cash rushed to include the song on the live album the next night.

Throughout the album Cash seems to empathize with the plight of the prisoners. The inmates for their part had a great deal of respect for Cash and his works, though some of the sounds from the inmates (cheering and shouting) were actually dubbed in after the recording.

On the original LP release, the song order was changed and several songs were cut, probably for space reasons. The version released on CD in 2000 still does not contain the entire concert, but rather with added tracks from the concert that day.

Four additional tracks were performed that day but not included on the re-release: "I'm Not in Your Town to Stay," "I've Got a Woman," "Long Legged Guitar Picking Man," and an alternate performance of "Greystone Chapel."

In 2003, it was one of 50 recordings chosen that year by the Library of Congress to be added to the National Recording Registry.

Track Listing
  1. Folsom Prison Blues
  2. Dark as a Dungeon
  3. I Still Miss Someone
  4. Cocaine Blues
  5. 25 Minutes to Go
  6. Orange Blossom Special
  7. The Long Black Veil
  8. Send A Picture of Mother
  9. The Wall
  10. Dirty Old Egg-Sucking Dog
  11. Flushed From The Bathroom of Your Heart
  12. Jackson (with June Carter)
  13. Give My Love to Rose (with June Carter)
  14. I Got Stripes
  15. Green, Green Grass of Home
  16. Greystone Chapel

100 Greatest Albums of All Time

Previous CD Back to CDs and Music Index Next CD

Search Our Site For Music, Films, and Books
Web justthegoodstuff.com
Just The Good Stuff
Just The Good Stuff

Books DVDs and Movies CDs and Music Electronics

Home | Books | DVDs & Movies | CDs & Music | Electronics | Contact Us | Privacy Policy

© 2005 - 2015 Just The Good Stuff