Just The Good Stuff CDs and Music - Just The Good Stuff
Home Books DVDs and Movies CDs and Music Electronics Contact Us Spacer

Axis: Bold as Love
The Jimi Hendrix Experience

CDs and Music - Just The Good Stuff

Buy Axis: Bold as Love, The Jimi Hendrix Experience From Amazon

Axis: Bold as Love, The Jimi Hendrix Experience Axis: Bold as Love by The Jimi Hendrix Experience ranked # 82 on Rolling Stone Magazine's 500 Greatest Albums list.

Axis: Bold as Love is the second album by The Jimi Hendrix Experience, released in 1967. Following the seminal Are You Experienced, the band delivered another classic, although Axis: Bold As Love is overshadowed by its predecessor and successor (Electric Ladyland). The group, however, undoubtedly sounds more confident and more proficient than it did on its debut. This is made all the more remarkable considering the recording was made under a pressure of the band's recording deal, according to which the group had to make two albums in year 1967.

Many of the album's songs were composed with studio recording techniques in mind, and were rarely played at live performances. Only "Spanish Castle Magic" and "Little Wing" were performed regularly at concerts. "Spanish Castle Magic" is named after a well known jazz club. "Little Wing" has become one of Hendrix's best-known songs. It was covered by Eric Clapton's short lived band, Derek and the Dominos, three years later and also an instrumental cover by Stevie Ray Vaughan is well known.

The title track, "Bold as Love", is oft considered to be the first pop recording to feature a stereo flanging effect. The effect can be heard during the outro of the track. The Beatles had notably used a mono flanging effect some time earlier on the Magical Mystery Tour album and EP.

The song "Little Miss Lover" was the first to feature percussive muted wahwah -effect (with the fretboard hand "killing" notes) - a technique that was later adopted by many other guitarists (it can be heard for example on Isaac Hayes's famous Shaft -theme). "Little Miss Lover" is also notable for being a predecessor of "funk rock" music that Hendrix later developed further.

The intro track of the album features conversation between Mitchell and Hendrix about UFOs. A person mentioned, Paul Carusoe, is a harmonica player who plays on the track "My Friend" that is placed on First Rays of the New Rising Sun album. "Up From the Skies" features Mitchell playing with brushes. The song is about a space creature who has visited the earth before thousands of years ago and now returns to see how it has changed.

Initially released in the UK in December of 1967, when it reached a healthy #5 peak, Axis: Bold As Love was held over until mid-January 1968 in the US due to the unrelenting sales of the band's first album. It was another success, reaching #3 in Jimi's native country.

The album's famous cover is inspired by traditional Hindu representations of the revelation of Krishna's universal form to Arjuna in the Bhagavad Gita.

Track Listing
  1. EXP
  2. Up From The Skies
  3. Spanish Castle Magic
  4. Wait Until Tomorrow
  5. Ain't No Telling
  6. Little Wing
  7. If 6 Was 9
  8. You Got Me Floatin'
  9. Castles Made of Sand
  10. She's So Fine
  11. One Rainy Wish
  12. Little Miss Lover
  13. Bold As Love

100 Greatest Albums of All Time

Previous CD Back to CDs and Music Index Next CD

Search Our Site For Music, Films, and Books
Web justthegoodstuff.com
Just The Good Stuff
Just The Good Stuff

Books DVDs and Movies CDs and Music Electronics

Home | Books | DVDs & Movies | CDs & Music | Electronics | Contact Us | Privacy Policy

© 2005 - 2015 Just The Good Stuff