Just The Good Stuff CDs and Music - Just The Good Stuff
Home Books DVDs and Movies CDs and Music Electronics Contact Us Spacer

Dusty in Memphis
Dusty Springfield

CDs and Music - Just The Good Stuff

Buy Dusty in Memphis, Dusty Springfield From Amazon

Dusty in Memphis, Dusty Springfield Dusty in Memphis by Dusty Springfield ranked # 89 on Rolling Stone Magazine's 500 Greatest Albums list.

Dusty in Memphis is an acclaimed "white soul" album by Dusty Springfield, released in 1969. It was produced by Jerry Wexler and Arif Mardin and engineered by Tom Dowd, all three of whom played key roles in Aretha Franklin's career.

"So Much Love", "Son of a Preacher Man", "Breakfast in Bed", "Just One Smile", "I Don't Want to Hear It Anymore", and "Just a Little Lovin'" are some of the album's prominent songs.

Though the album is classified in the soul genre, it's roots lay firmly in the jazz tradition, specifically the art of the torch singer.

According to the album's producers, the Memphis Cats were actually playing a jazz version of soul throughout most of the album's tracks. Dusty's delivery of the mostly interpretive (non original) material bears a strong resemblance to the singing of Peggy Lee, Julie London, and others of the torch singing tradition. This makes the album unique in that it is considered a canonical work of the Rock Era, yet it's primary ouvre may actually be the era preceding rock and roll.

While not a significant success at the time of its release, the album's reputation has grown over time, and today it is routinely cited in many 'greatest albums of all time' lists.

Track Listing
  1. Just A Little Lovin'
  2. So Much Love
  3. Son Of A Preacher Man
  4. I Don't Want To Hear It Anymore
  5. Don't Forget About Me
  6. Breakfast In Bed
  7. Just One Smile
  8. The Windmills Of Your Mind
  9. In The Land Of Make Believe
  10. No Easy Way Down
  11. I Can't Make It Alone
  12. What Do You Do When Love Dies (bonus track)
  13. Willie & Laura Mae Jones (bonus track)
  14. That Old Sweet Roll (Hi-De-Ho) (bonus track)
  15. Cherished
  16. Goodbye
  17. Make It With You
  18. Love Shine Down
  19. Live Here With You
  20. Natchez Trace
  21. All The KIng's Horses
  22. I'll Be Faithful
  23. Have A Good Life Baby
  24. You've Got A Friend
  25. I Found My Way

100 Greatest Albums of All Time

Previous CD Back to CDs and Music Index Next CD

Search Our Site For Music, Films, and Books
Web justthegoodstuff.com
Just The Good Stuff
Just The Good Stuff

Books DVDs and Movies CDs and Music Electronics

Home | Books | DVDs & Movies | CDs & Music | Electronics | Contact Us | Privacy Policy

© 2005 - 2015 Just The Good Stuff