Just The Good Stuff CDs and Music - Just The Good Stuff
Home Books DVDs and Movies CDs and Music Electronics Contact Us Spacer

Odessey and Oracle
The Zombies

CDs and Music - Just The Good Stuff

Buy Odessey and Oracle, The Zombies From Amazon

Odessey and Oracle, The Zombies Odessey and Oracle by The Zombies ranked # 80 on Rolling Stone Magazine's 500 Greatest Albums list.

Odessey and Oracle is a rock album by the Zombies released in 1968. The famous misspelling of "odyssey" in the title was the result of a mistake by the designer of the LP cover, Terry Quirk (who was the flatmate of bass player Chris White). The band, however, claims that the title was deliberate.

Odessey and Oracle was recorded in 1967 after the Zombies signed to the CBS label, and was only the second album they had released since 1965. As their first LP, Begin Here, was a collection of singles, Odessey can be regarded as the only true Zombies album.

The group began work on the album in June 1967. Some songs were recorded at EMI's Abbey Road Studios, where earlier in the year the Beatles had recorded Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band. By the time the recording was finished, in late 1967, the Zombies were effectively disbanded, due to lack of financial success. Odessey and Oracle was released in the U.K. in April 1968 and in the United States in June. The single "Time of the Season" became a surprise hit in early 1969, and Columbia Records (in the United States) re-released Odessey in February, with a slightly different album cover.

Since its release the LP has come to be regarded as one of the greatest of all pop albums, with indelible melodies, complex harmonies, and an air of nostalgia and longing that makes it comparable to such albums as Love's Forever Changes and the Beach Boys' Pet Sounds.

In 2002, Rolling Stone placed Odessey in 80th place on their list of the 500 Greatest Albums of All Time.

In November 2006, Odessey charted at #34 on the Rate Your Music greatest ever albums list.

The first song on the album, "Care of Cell 44" has been covered by such notable artists as Elliott Smith.

Track Listing
  1. Care Of Cell
  2. A Rose For Emily
  3. Maybe After He's Gone
  4. Beechwood Park
  5. Brief Candles
  6. Hung Up On A Dream
  7. Changes
  8. I Want Her She Wants Me
  9. This Will Be Our Year (Mono Mix)
  10. Butcher's Tale (Western Front)
  11. Friends Of Mine
  12. Time Of The Season
  13. I'll Call You Mine (Stereo Mix #1)
  14. Imagine The Swan (Stereo Mix #1)
  15. Conversation Off Floral Street
  16. If It Don't Work Out (Overdubbed)
  17. Don't Cry For Me (Overdubbed)
  18. Smokey Day
  19. She Loves The Way They Love Her
  20. Time Of The Season (UK Mono Mix)
  21. I'll Call You Mine (Overdubbed)
  22. Imagine The Swan (Stereo Mix #2)

100 Greatest Albums of All Time

Previous CD Back to CDs and Music Index Next CD

Search Our Site For Music, Films, and Books
Web justthegoodstuff.com
Just The Good Stuff
Just The Good Stuff

Books DVDs and Movies CDs and Music Electronics

Home | Books | DVDs & Movies | CDs & Music | Electronics | Contact Us | Privacy Policy

© 2005 - 2015 Just The Good Stuff