Just The Good Stuff CDs and Music - Just The Good Stuff
Home Books DVDs and Movies CDs and Music Electronics Contact Us Spacer

Please Please Me
The Beatles

CDs and Music - Just The Good Stuff

Buy Please Please Me By The Beatles From Amazon

Please Please Me By The Beatles - Just The Good Stuff Please Please Me by The Beatles ranked # 39 on Rolling Stone Magazine's 500 Greatest Albums list.

Please Please Me was the title of the Beatles' first album. The album was released on March 22, 1963 in the United Kingdom, due to the constant efforts of producer George Martin. To date, the Beatles had released only two singles ("Love Me Do"/"P.S. I Love You" and "Please Please Me"/"Ask Me Why"). The former was a moderate success, due in part to their manager's record store buying a large volume of the single. The latter, however, as Martin pronounced after they finished recording the song, was their first number one hit in the UK.

At the time, groups rarely released an LP unless the album was supported by a massive hit or popular film. Martin pushed for the album to be released, and many of the tracks came to be hits in the UK and the United States; some didn't become hits until the LP was re- released two years later.

The most remarkable thing about this album was that it was recorded in just fifteen hours on February 11, 1963, except for "Love Me Do" and "P.S. I Love You" and "Please Please Me" and "Ask Me Why". Some of the tracks on the album were not actually composed by the group, but were covers of rock standards of the time and are interesting for the insight they give into the band's own tastes in music.

Please Please Me was recorded on a two-track recorder at Abbey Road Studios, released originally in mono and then stereo. The stereo version has never been released except on vinyl.

Track Listing
  1. I Saw Her Standing There
  2. Misery
  3. Anna (Go To Him)
  4. Chains
  5. Boys
  6. Ask Me Why
  7. Please Please Me
  8. Love Me Do
  9. P.S. I Love You
  10. Baby It's You
  11. Do You Want To Know A Secret
  12. A Taste Of Honey
  13. There's A Place
  14. Twist And Shout

100 Greatest Albums of All Time

Previous CD Back to CDs and Music Index Next CD

Search Our Site For Music, Films, and Books
Web justthegoodstuff.com
Just The Good Stuff
Just The Good Stuff

Books DVDs and Movies CDs and Music Electronics

Home | Books | DVDs & Movies | CDs & Music | Electronics | Contact Us | Privacy Policy

© 2005 - 2015 Just The Good Stuff