Just The Good Stuff CDs and Music - Just The Good Stuff
Home Books DVDs and Movies CDs and Music Electronics Contact Us Spacer

The Wall
Pink Floyd

CDs and Music - Just The Good Stuff

Buy The Wall, Pink Floyd From Amazon

The Wall, Pink Floyd The Wall by Pink Floyd ranked # 87 on Rolling Stone Magazine's 500 Greatest Albums list.

The Wall is a 1979 rock opera concept album by Pink Floyd. The majority of the album was written and sung by Roger Waters.

Hailed by critics and fans as one of Pink Floyd's best albums (along with Meddle, Dark Side of the Moon, Wish You Were Here and Animals), the album is known as a rock and roll classic, and its morbid, depressing anthems have inspired many contemporary rock musicians. This was also the last studio Pink Floyd album to feature Richard Wright until his return in 1987.

By the time the album was being recorded, Waters had tightened his grip on the band and demanded near-complete artistic control. As a result, the other band members' input was kept to a minimum, which in turn created personal tensions. The album is one of the best-selling albums ever, with a reported 30 million sold worldwide. The album was recorded at four studios in an eight month span. One in New York (CBS Studios), one in Los Angeles (Producers Workshop, which was also where the album was mixed) and two in the south of France (Super Bear and Miravel). The jumping around from studio to studio were the results of English tax laws and in fact financial considerations dictated the way the album was made.

For "Another Brick in the Wall" (Part II), Pink Floyd needed a school choir, and approached music teacher Alun Renshaw of Islington Green School, around the corner from their Britannia Row Studios, in the middle of a lesson. The choir were not allowed to hear the rest of the song after singing the chorus, and were let down, as they wanted to hear Gilmour's solo. The chorus was overdubbed 12 times to give the impression that the choir was larger.

Track Listing
  1. In the Flesh?
  2. The Thin Ice
  3. Another Brick in the Wall (Part I)
  4. The Happiest Days of Our Lives
  5. Another Brick in the Wall (Part II)
  6. Mother
  7. Goodbye Blue Sky
  8. Empty Spaces
  9. Young Lust
  10. One of My Turns
  11. Don't Leave Me Now
  12. Another Brick in the Wall (Part III)
  13. Goodbye Cruel World
  14. Hey You
  15. Is There Anybody Out There?
  16. Nobody Home
  17. Vera
  18. Bring the Boys Back Home
  19. Comfortably Numb
  20. The Show Must Go On
  21. In the Flesh
  22. Run Like Hell
  23. Waiting For the Worms
  24. Stop
  25. The Trial
  26. Outside the Wall

100 Greatest Albums of All Time

Previous CD Back to CDs and Music Index Next CD

Search Our Site For Music, Films, and Books
Web justthegoodstuff.com
Just The Good Stuff
Just The Good Stuff

Books DVDs and Movies CDs and Music Electronics

Home | Books | DVDs & Movies | CDs & Music | Electronics | Contact Us | Privacy Policy

© 2005 - 2015 Just The Good Stuff